Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Mash efficiency problems - HELP!  (Read 8666 times)

Offline robcoombs

• NBCBA
  • Forum Hero
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 703
Mash efficiency problems - HELP!
« on: September 18, 2014, 08:30:46 PM »
   I've been having a lot of problems with my mash efficiency since I started brewing AG in May. At first I chalked it up to inexperience but after this many months and brews under my belt it has become very frustrating. I've only started measuring the pre-boil gravity for my last four batches but my OG have always been 3-7 points low. Mind you 3 points is not a huge deal, but my pre boil gravities are consistently 20-24 points low! So I usually crank the heat on the propane to boil off as much as possible so that my OG lands somewhere close to where it needs to be. Generally it's 7 points low, I've only come within 3 points once. Anyway, I know I get close to my expected OG in the end but I'm losing more wort than I should be boiling this way. So I'm obviously doing something very wrong but have no idea what. I generally come within a degree or two of hitting my mash temp.

I've read countless articles online about mash efficiency and even a book or two and tried everything I can find to get my pre boil gravity up but with no luck at all. Here's what I've tried so far.

-I bought a new hydrometer (long shot I know but this made no difference)
-Measured the sparge and strike water temperature with an external thermometer as well as the kettle thermometer to make sure they are consistent (they are)
-Narrowed the gap in my BC to 0.34
-Tried a very slow batch sparge (45-60 minutes, no improvement)