• Welcome to New Brunswick Craft Brewers Association.

newb tips / priority / advice.

Started by JamesC, September 02, 2013, 09:36:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamesC

Evening All,

I'm pretty new to brewing... started with a festa brew box, did a small all grain batch (using standard kitchen equipment, ) a noble grape recipe kit, and found a recipe online, so ordered the individual ingredients for an extract brew. That's my ecperience thus far.

I'm reading all I can, and one thing I'd like to see is an advice thread on priority of equipment to buy / make to be successful. I purchased a half decent pot to boil in, and a second carboy so far, but am definitely interested in doing full batch all grain brewing. Where do I start?

fakr

Morning Headspring,

Welcome to the forum.  Where to start is a very good question and you'll get a many different answers from different members. 

I'll throw in my suggestions based solely on the lowest cost and complexity...

Lookup BIAB (brew in a bag).  It would be about the least complex and cheapest when getting into all grain.  here's what you need:

1 boil kettle
2 buckets
1 big muslin brewing bag.

So the idea is that you put your grain bag filled with grain in a bucket, filling the bucket with a pre determined temperature and amount of water.  Let the bag of grain steep in the hot water for an hour, then pull the bag out, put it in the second bucket.  During this time you heat up a second amount of water in the boil kettle and pour it into the second bucket with the wet grain bag.  Pour the first bucket into the kettle, and after stirring the second bucket of hot water and grain for 5-10 mins, pour the second bucket of hot wort into the boil kettle.  Boil the wort, add hops, then cool and transfer to a fermenter.

There are small steps that I've missed, but you should get the point.  Very little amount of equipment and $ needed to get started.