• Welcome to New Brunswick Craft Brewers Association.

Used Equipment

Started by DandyMason, February 23, 2012, 08:05:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DandyMason

Hey, a buddy dropped off a keg and an old 20 lb CO2 tank for me tonight... Both are actually full. Apparently the beer in the keg is wayyy beyond drinkable. The tank is also full, but Im pretty sure its due for an inspection, no tags on it or anything. Should I get it inspected before using the CO2 in it?

Any suggestions for the keg? Is it worth making a keggle out of it? I have a 48 L SS pot right now..

JohnQ

Disclaimer...I have no training or knowledge whatsoever regarding pressurized CO2 devices which could be a potential bomb...

I'd use the CO2, and KEEP the keg as is, until you decide whether to serve or spund in it, before irreversibly damaging it by cutting the top open.

FWIW

JQ
Charter Member
I'm on the 12 step program...
I'm on Step 1 - I've admitted I have a problem...and if you're reading this, so do you!

On Tap: 1. MT; 2. PartiGyle Barley Wine; 3. MT; 4. MT; 5. Obiwan Kanobe 6. Pollen Angels TM Base; 7. MT  8. MT
Visiting Taps:
Travelling: Vienna Pale @ RB's; NB55 @ Fakr's
Recent Visitors: CMC Graham Cracker Brown, Fakr's Warrior AGDTDiPA; Brew's SNPA; Brew's C^3, Fakr's Stout
In the BH's: 1. Empty 2. WW, STILL! 3. Empty
Aging: Lots and Lots of Mead for Samples

DandyMason

Thanks John,

Yeah my plan was to give the CO2 a try, thanks for the input.

Anyone else using keggles?

brew

Keggles are cool for sure, but be sure you want to do it first before cutting the top off - that there is also a great fermenter just the way it is!
NBCBA Treasurer
Planned: Drink beer later, Primary: Drink beer soon, Secondary: Drink beer shortly, Kegged: Drinking beer now

Chris Craig

Quote from: "DandyMason"Thanks John,

Yeah my plan was to give the CO2 a try, thanks for the input.

Anyone else using keggles?