Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: GFCI Spa Panel  (Read 1096 times)

Offline blisster

  • Executive
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
  • Got Hops?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 457
GFCI Spa Panel
« on: April 16, 2018, 04:49:16 PM »
Did some proper wiring, having exposed wires stressed me out, lol.. 

Do you electric brewers use a GFCI spa panel for extra safety?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him how to brew beer and he'll waste a lifetime.

Offline mikegraham

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 723
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2018, 05:38:49 PM »
I have a GFCI breaker in my sub panel i wired up just incase. I would perfer to have it just incase.

Offline shazapple

  • NBCBA
  • Junior Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 260
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 361
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2018, 08:41:15 PM »
I have a GFCI breaker I need to install. Water/wort seems to have a tendency to spray everywhere at inopportune times.
Lee

Offline Roger

  • Vice President
  • Executive
  • Forum Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1528
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1307
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2018, 11:03:28 PM »
I do have a GFCI spa panel. I also suggest using one.
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...

Offline blisster

  • Executive
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
  • Got Hops?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 457
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2018, 10:47:28 AM »
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...

Indeed, I've been zapped by 30amps once before when working on a clothes dryer. I'd rather not take that chance again.

Thanks all...  Where would one find a GFCI sub panel or what's involved in building one?
Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him how to brew beer and he'll waste a lifetime.

Offline mikegraham

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 723
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2018, 11:35:51 AM »
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...



Indeed, I've been zapped by 30amps once before when working on a clothes dryer. I'd rather not take that chance again.

Thanks all...  Where would one find a GFCI sub panel or what's involved in building one?

Cheapest option may be put the gfci breaker in your panel for the circut powering it.

Kent had some on clearance not to long ago

Offline Roger

  • Vice President
  • Executive
  • Forum Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1528
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1307
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2018, 05:14:37 PM »
I  got my spa panel from the US and put a plug on it and just unplug my dryer and plug it into that outlet.

Offline blisster

  • Executive
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
  • Got Hops?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 457
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2018, 12:04:47 PM »

Cheapest option may be put the gfci breaker in your panel for the circut powering it.

Kent had some on clearance not to long ago

My panel uses Stab-Lok breakers..  Not having much any luck finding any 30 amp 2 pole ones that are GFCI.

I found a few online but they are crazy expensive!?!

https://www.bulbspro.com/federal-pioneer-nagf230-stab-lok-2-pole-30-amp-ground-fault-circuit-breaker.html
https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.double-pole-40-amp-stab-lok-plug-on-gfi-circuit-breaker.1000181371.html  (40 Amp)

Looks like I might have to build one...  Where in the states did you find yours, Roger? 
Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him how to brew beer and he'll waste a lifetime.

Offline Roger

  • Vice President
  • Executive
  • Forum Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1528
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1307
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2018, 07:06:13 PM »
Home depot. They are more than twice the price here in Canada though. I think I paid $60.00 on sale when I bought mine.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2018, 07:25:13 PM by Roger »

Offline feldmann

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 736
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 230
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2019, 10:02:24 AM »
Reviving this thread because I'm looking at switching to electric. What did you end up with?

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk


Offline blisster

  • Executive
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 824
  • Got Hops?
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 457
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2019, 12:20:09 PM »
I had found 50amp stab-lok CGFI breaker on ebay.. I bought it but for whatever reason the seller refunded the money to my Paypal and never sent it..   So I am back to square one and still brewing without one for now..  Not smart, I know..
Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him how to brew beer and he'll waste a lifetime.

Offline mikegraham

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 517
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 723
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2019, 01:25:34 PM »
Check the habit restore on the north side.i found a few GFCI breakers there for cheap. And they were new

Offline feldmann

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 736
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 230
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2019, 03:35:48 PM »
A spa panel just looks so much simpler and most of the ones I see online range from $80-100.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk


Offline Roger

  • Vice President
  • Executive
  • Forum Hero
  • ****
  • Posts: 1528
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 1307
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2019, 11:12:09 AM »
I got mine a few years ago in Maine at a Home Depot it was about $60.00.

Offline feldmann

  • NBCBA
  • Senior Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 736
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 230
Re: GFCI Spa Panel
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2019, 05:56:49 PM »
I got mine a few years ago in Maine at a Home Depot it was about $60.00.

I'm driving through the US when I move so I'm already starting a list of things I want to grab along the way lol (besides beer)