New Brunswick Craft Brewers Association

Brewing => Equipment => Topic started by: blisster on April 16, 2018, 04:49:16 PM

Title: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: blisster on April 16, 2018, 04:49:16 PM
Did some proper wiring, having exposed wires stressed me out, lol.. 

Do you electric brewers use a GFCI spa panel for extra safety?

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180416/722d76438072d8f02d1a11099b325713.jpg)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: mikegraham on April 16, 2018, 05:38:49 PM
I have a GFCI breaker in my sub panel i wired up just incase. I would perfer to have it just incase.
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: shazapple on April 16, 2018, 08:41:15 PM
I have a GFCI breaker I need to install. Water/wort seems to have a tendency to spray everywhere at inopportune times.
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: Roger on April 16, 2018, 11:03:28 PM
I do have a GFCI spa panel. I also suggest using one.
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: blisster on April 17, 2018, 10:47:28 AM
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...

Indeed, I've been zapped by 30amps once before when working on a clothes dryer. I'd rather not take that chance again.

Thanks all...  Where would one find a GFCI sub panel or what's involved in building one?
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: mikegraham on April 17, 2018, 11:35:51 AM
30 amps would give you one hell of a shock...



Indeed, I've been zapped by 30amps once before when working on a clothes dryer. I'd rather not take that chance again.

Thanks all...  Where would one find a GFCI sub panel or what's involved in building one?

Cheapest option may be put the gfci breaker in your panel for the circut powering it.

Kent had some on clearance not to long ago
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: Roger on April 17, 2018, 05:14:37 PM
I  got my spa panel from the US and put a plug on it and just unplug my dryer and plug it into that outlet.
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: blisster on April 19, 2018, 12:04:47 PM

Cheapest option may be put the gfci breaker in your panel for the circut powering it.

Kent had some on clearance not to long ago

My panel uses Stab-Lok breakers..  Not having much any luck finding any 30 amp 2 pole ones that are GFCI.

I found a few online but they are crazy expensive!?!

https://www.bulbspro.com/federal-pioneer-nagf230-stab-lok-2-pole-30-amp-ground-fault-circuit-breaker.html (https://www.bulbspro.com/federal-pioneer-nagf230-stab-lok-2-pole-30-amp-ground-fault-circuit-breaker.html)
https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.double-pole-40-amp-stab-lok-plug-on-gfi-circuit-breaker.1000181371.html (https://www.homedepot.ca/en/home/p.double-pole-40-amp-stab-lok-plug-on-gfi-circuit-breaker.1000181371.html)  (40 Amp)

Looks like I might have to build one...  Where in the states did you find yours, Roger? 
Title: Re: GFCI Spa Panel
Post by: Roger on April 19, 2018, 07:06:13 PM
Home depot. They are more than twice the price here in Canada though. I think I paid $60.00 on sale when I bought mine.